Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PlaySpan claims 48% leap in virtual goods prepaid cards

Thu 02 Dec 2010 9:00am GMT / 4:00am EST / 1:00am PST
MobileRetail

Black Friday causes sales spike

Micropayment firm PlaySpan saw a 69 per cent week-on-week leap in sales of its prepaid virtual goods cards for Black Friday.

Sales for the Ultimate Game Card, stocked in 50,000 US retailers, were also up 48 per cent from the previous Black Friday.

In addition, the PlaySpan Marketplace, the firm's online store for virtual currency and goods for a raft of social games and MMOs, saw a 17 per cent weekly rise. They were up 56 per cent from 2009's Black Friday.

In related news, a new NPD survey reveals that 34 per cent of US consumers plan to purchase gift cards over the Christmas season.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now