Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Def Jam game offers Atlantic Records deal

Thu 02 Dec 2010 10:00am GMT / 5:00am EST / 2:00am PST
Online

HMV also on board for nationwide music talent competition

4mm Games is offering a recording deal with Atlantic Records in a competition to find new music talent in the UK.

Players of Def Jam Rapstar are invited to upload their performance to be judged and put forward for a nationwide competition, supported by retailer HMV and its Gamerbase stores.

"Digital technology not only helps artists reach their audiences all over the world, it also provides us with new ways of discovering talent," said Max Lousada, chairman of Atlantic Records UK.

"Rapstarbrings those two ideas together in an exciting, cutting edge music experience. Fans will get the chance to explore new music, emulate their heroes and even have a shot at stardom themselves."

For those that don't own a copy of the game, HMV will set up stations in stores for budding artists to record their performance from January 1.

The competition follows 4mm Games recent team-up with the National Literacy Trust to tour UK schools promoting language skills.

"Rapstar's social community not only gives players the chance to perform their favourite hip-hop songs and show off their emcee skills, but it also builds a platform for us to discover new talent," offered Kevin Liles, president and CEO, Def Jam Interactive.

"Atlantic UK and HMV are the perfect partners to venture into this project and together we will find the next Rapstar."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now