Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect for XNA: "That's something we will support in future"

Wed 24 Nov 2010 3:42pm GMT / 10:42am EST / 7:42am PST
Developer ToolsHardware

Plus Kipman claims Microsoft won't hinder open-source projects

Microsoft is likely to expand support for its Kinect motion controller, with project lead Alex Kipman claiming the camera will be opened up to XNA in time.

"There's no Kinect support through XNA today," he told NPR's Talk Of The Nation podcast, "but that's something that we will support in the future."

XNA allows, in theory, anyone to create Xbox 360 applications, and has been a much-used tool by indie developers.

Kipman also claimed that Microsoft would not be cracking down on the use of open source PC software for Kinect, arguing that these did not constitute 'hacks.'

"Hacking would mean that someone got to our algorithms that sit on the side of the Xbox, and was able to actually use them - which hasn't happened.

"What has happened is that someone wrote an open source driver for PCs that essentially opens the USB connection which we didn't protect by design, and reads the inputs from the sensor."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now