Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ hails uDraw momentum

Tue 23 Nov 2010 8:23am GMT / 3:23am EST / 12:23am PST
HardwarePublishing

Wii peripheral helps push shares up 32%

Early signs point to THQ's art tablet accessory for Wii, uDraw, as being a sales success.

The publisher is not releasing figures as yet, but has enjoyed a dramatic leap in its share price since the $70 peripheral's release on November 14.

At the start of the month THQ's shares had dipped to a recent low of $3.90, but yesterday were up 31.8 per cent to $5.14 - the company's highest value since June.

THQ is known to have produced 1.3 million uDraw units, scaled up from 1 million after a positive retailer response.

Reuters reports that the accessory reached seventh in Amazon.com's videogame charts, in a period of strong competition from the likes of Black Ops and Kinect.

"U-draw is selling so well I'm afraid they'll rename the company THQ-Draw," joked THQ VP Danny Bilson on Twitter last night.

1 Comment

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,194 1,169 0.5
Nice. I've been trying to get my grubby paws on one of these to review for a few weeks (I'm an illustrator on the side if you haven't guess by my profile pic) , but not much of a response from PR. Great that it's doing well without MY needless input. Ah well - the videos I've seen look great, so I'll just buy the darn thing at some point. It'll probably be a lot more fun than Art Academy, that's for sure...

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now