Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

PS3, Wii sales unaffected by Xbox surge

Thu 18 Nov 2010 11:12am GMT / 6:12am EST / 3:12am PST
Retail

All home consoles see sales lift before Kinect launch

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

UK sales of the PlayStation 3 and Wii were unaffected by the surge in sales of the Xbox 360 following the release of Kinect and Call of Duty: Black Ops.

That's according to hardware sales charts obtained by our sister site Eurogamer.net, for the period in which Xbox 360 sales doubled in the region.

Nintendo's Wii outsold the Xbox 360 in the week preceding the launch of Kinect, and both the Wii and PlayStation 3 recorded sales consistent with their previous week following the launch of the motion controller.

According to the report, all three home consoles saw sales lift in the weeks before the Kinect launch.

Earlier this week Microsoft said that Kinect had sold one million units worldwide in the ten days since going on sale.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now