Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

LucasArts confirms new round of lay-offs

Wed 17 Nov 2010 8:35am GMT / 3:35am EST / 12:35am PST
PublishingDevelopment

Up to 50 staff let go potentially from unannounced project

LucasArts has confirmed the loss of further jobs, the second round of redundancies this year, although it has confirmed neither the numbers nor the origin of the cuts.

Speculation was rife after a tweet from George Broussard yesterday claimed that the losses came from an as yet unannounced title, something which LucasArts has neither confirmed or denied. Gamasutra is reporting that up to 50 staff have lost their jobs in the cutbacks.

Broussard previously worked at Duke Nukem studio 3D Realms, but moved to Hitman developer IO Interactive after 3D Realms closed down.

"LucasArts recently made a minor adjustment in staffing to help us better address the needs of the business," said the publisher in a statement. "We remain committed to our internal studio - and to fostering relationships with trusted external partners - in order to deliver quality games that amaze and inspire fans."

Earlier this year, LucasArts confirmed a number of job cuts at its San Francisco headquarters, having performed several extensive executive reshuffles earlier in 2010.

Just last week the company ceded all publishing duties for forthcoming MMO Star Wars: The Old Republic to Electronic Arts, retaining a licensor role.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now