Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Turbulenz breaks cover with $5 million funding

Wed 10 Nov 2010 9:28am GMT / 4:28am EST / 1:28am PST
Developer Tools

Ex-Criterion firm raises cash for browser game creation and publishing tool

Turbulenz Limited

Turbulenz develops technology that enables the creation, distribution, playing and purchase of next generation-quality...

turbulenz.com

UK studio Turbulenz has raised $5 million in funding for its eponymous browser game creation and publishing platform.

Founded last year by ex-members of EA and Criterion, Turbulenz plans to launch the platform in 2011 with the aim of enabling easy publishing and monetisation of browser games for developers.

"We are thrilled to announce that we have raised these funds, which will allow us to continue expanding our development goals, enabling Turbulenz to power a new generation of online games," said James Austin, Turbulenz CEO and ex-director of technology at EA.

Having already recruited from the ranks of Apple, Sony, Google, Eidos and Square Enix, Turbulenz plans to expand its numbers further through the next year.

4 Comments

Ben Furneaux
Lead Designer

115 48 0.4
Turbulenz is easily the most exciting project I've ever worked on. Can't wait until we make our platform public knowledge and I can talk about it :)

Posted:3 years ago

#1
nice work guys!

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Philipp Karstaedt
Producer / Product & Project Manager

7 0 0.0
Ohh we want to know!

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Dennis Willis
Owner

6 0 0.0
Although Garagegames has touted this technology for years they failed to bring it to the mainstream, however Turbulenz has not only the funding but they also have the support of some major players such as Sony and Apple. I look foward to seeing how this develops.

Posted:3 years ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now