Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

First $13m payment for 38 Studios

Thu 04 Nov 2010 9:05am GMT / 5:05am EDT / 2:05am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Schilling's outfit brings in first chunk of controversial loan

38 Studios, the developer founded by former baseball player Curt Schilling, has obtained the first $13 million of the $75 million loan promised if he upped sticks to Rhode Island.

The planned move has angered Massachussets state officials and Boston area developers, who feel it is harmful to the local games industry.

Rhode Island politicians expect 38 Studios' relocation to Providence to create hundreds of jobs, with further payments contingent on hitting employment milestones.

38 Studios has two projects in the works, MMO Copernicus and Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning, with the latter handled by subsidiary Big Huge Games.

2 Comments

robert troughton
Managing Director

217 85 0.4
See, that's what the UK games industry needs: if a local council offered Pitbull $75million, we'd move too. And of course we'll create new jobs with each chunk of cash.

Hopefully Gateshead/Newcastle councils are reading this..........................................................

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Greg Wilcox
Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,132 1,039 0.5
(Looks in wallet, watches lint drift to carpet)... Rats. Well, so much for getting you guys to make games here in the US. Er, keep fighting the good fight (maybe put those council members in a game and they'll flip open the checkbook)...

Funny thing is with all the anti-gaming nonsense here in the US, we have at least one state where they're actually fighting about keeping a developer, not what sort of content they're making.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now