Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

More investment cash headed for casual games - report

Wed 03 Nov 2010 8:46am GMT / 4:46am EDT / 1:46am PDT
BusinessOnlineCasual

OMGPOP set for $10m injection as online free-to-play market continues to attract funding

Casual online games company OMGPOP could be set for a $10 million investment round, according to reports - adding to the $4.5 million it has already raised in its four-year history.

The website, which has recently seen its user numbers double to 6 million since integrating its games into Facebook, is the latest in a line of deals involving the free-to-play market - and follows the $5.5 billion valuation of FarmVille publisher Zynga recently.

"The New York-based company is still closing the round, but I'm told existing investors Bessemer Venture Partners and Spark Capital will re-up, and that Softbank Capital NY will also come aboard," wrote Peter Kafka on All Things Digital.

The site - which started life as a dating destination - hosts a number of casual game titles, including Pool and Missile Command.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now