Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Best Buy opens UK online store

Wed 03 Nov 2010 3:34pm GMT / 11:34am EDT / 8:34am PDT
Retail

Free delivery and price matching from US games and electronics retailer

Best Buy

With operations in the United States, Canada, Europe, China and Mexico, Best Buy is a multinational retailer...

bestbuy.com

American retail giant Best Buy has launched an online shop in the UK, building on the seven brick and mortar stores across the country.

While a relative newcomer to Britain, the home electronics and games retailer is expanding quickly, with the new e-shop seeking to rival the likes of Dixons, Currys and Amazon.

DeVere Forster, online MD for Best Buy UK said: "The launch of our e-commerce store on BestBuy.co.uk marks a key milestone for the business and helps to make buying technology simple, inspiring and tailored to each of our customers.

"We are very excited that customers from across the UK will now be able to experience the Best Buy brand for the first time."

The site promises free delivery across the country, a price matching service and user reviews powered by Revoo.

Best Buy most recently opened a Croydon branch, and is planning five more UK stores (Bristol, Nottingham, Enfield, Rotherham and Hayes) next year.

2 Comments

Terence Gage
Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
As a consumer, more competition is good I guess. I haven't been able to get to a Best Buy store yet, but would like to do so soon to get a feel for the business and how their stores are laid out and so on.

It will be interesting to see if price-wise they compete online with the likes of Game, Play, Amazon et al, or compete with the less well-known but cheaper sites like TheGameCollection or Shopto.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

David Rider
Publisher

83 0 0.0

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now