Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

WWE ramps up marketing support for THQ games

Mon 01 Nov 2010 10:51am GMT / 6:51am EDT / 3:51am PDT
AdvertisingPublishing

Wrestling firm to promote publisher's licensed titles in its TV shows and events

THQ's WWE games are to receive a substantial increase in marketing supporting from the wrestling brand.

Smackdown vs RAW and WWE All Stars will be promoted on World Wrestling Entertainment DVDs, its website, in the standard and pay-per-view TV shows, and at 40 live events this year.

This means a degree of ongoing marketing, as opposed to the former strategy of concentrating promotion around launch week.

"This strategic marketing agreement reflects the benefits of working more closely with WWE to maximize the interactive entertainment experience for fans of this leading sports entertainment brand," said THQ President and CEO Brian Farrell."

"We expect to increase awareness of our games through this new integrated program. "

Added WWE CEO Donna Goldsmith, "Working together, we plan to give our fans more access to all of the great interactive entertainment being created by THQ, as well as develop robust promotions to increase awareness of all WWE platforms."

The two firms will also partner on further strategies, including social media, iOS apps and online community features.

Said Farrell, "We are expanding our WWE video game offerings with social applications and brand extensions to help WWE fans enjoy different interactive experiences throughout the year."

WWE SmackDown vs. RAW 2011 debuted at seven in this week's UK software chart.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now