Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

City Interactive licenses CryEngine 3 for two new games

Fri 29 Oct 2010 8:28am GMT / 4:28am EDT / 1:28am PDT
Developer ToolsDevelopment

Unannounced FPS titles to use Crytek technology

City Interactive, developer of Sniper: Ghost Warrior, has licensed the CryEngine 3 from Crytek for two new, unannounced first-person shooter titles.

Despite a relatively poor critical reception, Sniper: Ghost Warrior performed well at retail, spending a number of weeks in the all format top twenty

City Interactive reported that profits were up 230 per cent for the first three quarters, while 2010 revenues have been predicted to rise 219 per cent above those of 2009.

"We are certainly gratified by our overall growth and are excited about the potential of our upcoming product release schedule," said City Interactive CEO Marek Tyminski.

"We have licensed the CryEngine 3, one of the most advanced game engines available, as a means to further develop some soon to be announced multiplatform games that will deliver amazing gaming experiences."

The CryEngine 3 technology, which operates across PC, PS3 and Xbox 360, will be behind Crytek's new title, Crysis 2.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now