Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Second Life founder steps down

Thu 21 Oct 2010 10:32am GMT / 6:32am EDT / 3:32am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

Rosedale leaves CEO post at Linden in favour of new startup

Second Life founder Philip Rosedale has abandoned his role of CEO at Linden Lab, turning his attention instead to his new firm Love Machine.

Although he created Second Life in 1999, Rosedale has only occupied the chief executive's chair for four months, following the departure of Mark Kingdon.

"I'll be leaving day-to-day management of the company and continuing in my role on the board, including helping in the search to find a great CEO," Rosedale confirmed on the company blog.

"I will also be continuing my work with my new company, LoveMachine." The startup is working on virtual currency and AI technologies, as well as middleware.

The next interim CEO for Linden will be Bob Komin.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now