Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA confirms acquisition of Angry Birds publisher Chillingo

Wed 20 Oct 2010 8:04pm GMT / 4:04pm EDT / 1:04pm PDT
Business

Picks up best-selling iPhone company for a rumoured $20m

Following mounting speculation earlier today, EA has confirmed its planned purchase of mobile game publisher Chillingo.

Chillingo is best known for iPhone hit Angry Birds (which it did not develop), and is currently topping the App Store charts once again with Cut The Rope.

Sources suggested to Reuters that EA will "pay under $20 million in cash plus other undisclosed considerations."

"By acquiring Chillingo, EA Mobile is increasing its market leadership on the Apple platform as well as reaffirming its position as the world's leading wireless entertainment publisher," said EA spokeswoman Holly Rockwood.

This is EA's second recent purchase in the online space, having acquired Facebook studio PlayFish for $250 million just over a year ago.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now