Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Indie devs experiment with Kindle as a platform

Mon 18 Oct 2010 8:30am GMT / 4:30am EDT / 1:30am PDT
Developer Tools

Former XBLA exec spearheads puzzle game for Amazon e-reader

Amazon

Amazon.com strives to be Earth's most customer-centric company where people can find and discover virtually...

amazon.com

Amazon's ebook reader, the Kindle, has attracted its first indie game.

Spry Fox, a startup co-founded by former Xbox Live Arcade worldwide portfolio manager David Edery, has released puzzle title Triple Town for the monochrome device.

"We're excited to see a start-up company like Spry Fox create a unique game using the Kindle Development Kit," said Mike Nash, vice president for Amazon Kindle.

The game was created from the ground-up for Kindle, claimed Edery, and costs $2.99.

Kindle has previously seen a number of free word games, with Amazon hoping that the aforementioned Kindle Development Kit will attract more.

Gaming take-up on Kindle may be complicated by the forthcoming wave of colour e-readers, as well as Apple and Android tablet devices.

1 Comment

Kim Pallister
Director of Content

10 2 0.2
Worth mentioning that this is one of a number of games they now offer for Kindle (Scrabble, others).

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now