Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PlaySpan and Facebook partner on Credits

Thu 14 Oct 2010 7:30am GMT / 3:30am EDT / 12:30am PDT
BusinessOnline

Virtual goods firm to add 20 new payment options for social network currency

Facebook has recruited virtual currency enterprise PlaySpan to help distribute its Credits system.

The use of PlaySpan's Ultimate Pay platform enables 20 additional payment options for Facebook Credits, largely aimed at non-US users.

This means Facebook Credit purchases may now more easily bypass the need for a credit card. Prepay cards from retail stores are also supported.

The news was revealed by Facebook's manager of product marketing for Credits, Deborah Liu, at the Virtual Goods Summit in San Franciso (as attended by VentureBeat).

Liu spoke of the intention to ultimately put Credits at the level of a global currency, an online equivalent to the Euro.

Facebook Credits, from which the social network takes a 30 per cent cut, are now used in 200 games. Earlier this month, Facebook bosses pledged to eventually roll the service out to all games on the network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now