Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GameStop claims record preorders for CoD: Black Ops

Fri 08 Oct 2010 7:22am GMT / 3:22am EDT / 12:22am PDT
Retail

Retailer confident Treyarch's shooter will outdo even Modern Warfare 2

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Treyarch

Founded in 1996, and acquired by Activision in 2001, Treyarch has grown to become one of the most successful...

treyarch.com

US retail chain GameStop believes Activision's Call of Duty: Black Ops is on target to be its all-time most pre-ordered title.

"GameStop is tracking to all-time, record reservations on Call of Duty: Black Ops," claimed merchandising SVP Bob McKenzie.

"We are ahead of where we were with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 last year, which previously set the industry standard."

McKenzie revealed this whilst announcing a prize sweepstake for anyone pre-ordering the title from GameStop.

Activision itself has similar expectancies for the seventh of the main Call of Duty games, in August revealing that it is the publisher's biggest-ever investment.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now