Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

DeNA linked to $400m ngmoco acquisition

By Matt Martin

Fri 08 Oct 2010 9:22am GMT / 5:22am EDT / 2:22am PDT
MobileBusiness

Japanese firm rumoured to consider buying Neil Young's iPhone business

Japanese gaming giant DeNA is considering an acquisition of iPhone publisher ngmoco for more than $400 million, according the a new report.

Citing chatter from "multiple sources", TechCrunch suggested that Facebook giant Zynga also looked at the possibility of buying ngmoco, but "threw up a little" over the price.

Ngmoco was established by former Electronic Arts Blueprint boss Neil Young and quickly established itself as a leader in games for the iPhone, iPod and iPad, with hits such as Dr Awesome and Rolando. It has bought up a number of developers along the way, including Stumptown Game Machine and Freeverse, and raised over $40 million.

DeNA has recently invested in Astro Ape and Gameview, and is Japan's largest social mobile games company.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now