Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Live Gamer to provide microtransactions for Namco Networks

Fri 24 Sep 2010 8:33am GMT / 4:33am EDT / 1:33am PDT
Online

Hamster Pirates to be first game to include Elements system

Live Gamer has been selected by Namco Networks to provide microtransaction payments for its free-to-play online games.

The first game to feature Live Gamer Elements will be Namco's Hamster Pirates, due for release this Autumn.

"Offering a free-to-play, virtual items-based experience to users has proven to significantly raise monetisation and engagement," said Namco's marketing vice president Carlson Choi.

"We chose to work with the Live Gamer team because they offer a complete, end-to-end solution for driving microtransactions."

Live Gamer already provides microtransaction support for EA and THQ, via the Live Gamer Elements system, which allows for support of virtual goods merchandising, analytics, virtual item gifting, support of in-game currencies, item stores, catalogue management and payment gateways.

"Namco is one the most beloved game companies in the world, with titles that have inspired and created favourite past-times for generations of gamers," added Andrew Schneider, Live Gamer president.

"As in-game virtual items have become the leading revenue driver for online games today, gaming publishers are now integrating this business model for continued success. We're looking forward to helping Namco accelerate their social game strategy and ongoing growth."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now