Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kalypso acquires key TGC games and staff

Thu 23 Sep 2010 8:32am GMT / 4:32am EDT / 1:32am PDT
Publishing

RPG Demonicon and 17 staff part of assets absorbed from insolvent developer

Kalypso Media has snapped up some key assets from insolvent developer The Games Company, including RPG Demonicon and 17 staff from TGC's internal development studio.

The staff members will become part of Noumena Studios, a new company owned by Kalypso. Noumena joins Realmforge and Gaming Minds as Kalypso's third majority-owned development studio.

Kalypso hopes that Noumena will employ 35 staff by the end of 2010. Former TGC project manager André Schmitz has been appointed as Noumena's studio director - his main focus will be the completion of Demonicon for a release on PC and console in early 2012.

"After a turbulent insolvency, we are very pleased to have Kalypso as a key investor and partner," said Schmitz.

"We are happy that Kalypso will retain the core team - as they did with the creation of Gaming Minds Studios after purchasing Ascaron's assets. Kalypso has also shown that long-term positive cooperation and stable growth are high priorities for them."

"Our acquisition of Demonicon and other valuable brands, along with the founding of our third studio further enhances our already strong product portfolio for 2011 and 2012, solidifying our position as an independent international publisher and developer," said Simon Hellwig, Kalypso's global managing director.

1 Comment

Here is wishing Demonicon every sucess in its arise from the ashes of TGC

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now