Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Netherrealm claims to be using PSP2

Fri 17 Sep 2010 7:30am GMT / 3:30am EDT / 12:30am PDT
HardwareDevelopment

Mortal Kombat studio already working with "pretty powerful" Sony handheld

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Last night brought further suggestion Sony is preparing the next generation of its PSP handheld, with current Mortal Kombat developer Netherrealm Studios revealing it possessed one of the new portables.

"We have a PSP2 in the house," executive producer Shaun Himmerick told IndustryGamers, "and we're looking at the engine, like what can it support.

"We're running at 60 fps, what can we do and do we have to build all the art assets over. PSP2 looks like it's a pretty powerful machine."

Multiple industry sources last month revealed the existence of the PSP2 to Gamesindustry.biz and sister site Eurogamer.net, claiming the device sported rear-mounted touch-sensitive controls.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now