Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft expects more than 3m Kinect sales this holiday

Thu 16 Sep 2010 1:55pm GMT / 9:55am EDT / 6:55am PDT
RetailHardware

Marketing spend exceeds Xbox 360 launch

Microsoft is expecting to sell over 3 million units of motion control peripheral Kinect this holiday season.

That's according to product manager Aaron Greenberg, who reiterated the company line that the Xbox 360 console has at least another five years of its lifecycle left.

"We believe this will be the biggest launch in our history, for Xbox. We will sell more Kinect sensors than we did [systems] at Xbox 360 launch," Greenberg told Gamasutra.

"Our estimates that we will sell in excess of 3 million units this holiday."

Marketing spend has been in the "hundreds of millions" of dollars, "exceeding in what we did when we launched the original Xbox 360," he added.

At E3, Microsoft's Chris Lewis told GamesIndustry.biz that he expected Kinect to help Xbox 360 stay relevant for another five years, although publishers such as Ubisoft are doubtful of the ten-year lifecycle plan.

1 Comment

Terence Gage
Freelance writer

1,288 120 0.1
Bloody hell -- they're putting more marketing budget behind Kinect than they did the whole 360 launch?! It's hard to see it not doing very well when they're spending hundreds of millions of dollars publicising it.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now