Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Built-in stereoscopic support for Cryengine 3 SDK

Fri 03 Sep 2010 7:30am GMT / 3:30am EDT / 12:30am PDT
Developer ToolsDevelopment

Native 3D for PS3, Xbox 360 and PC games using Crytek's latest middleware

Crytek is to offer native support for stereoscopic 3D on PlayStation 3, Xbox 360 and PC in the latest version of its CryEngine toolset.

Version 3.2 of the SDK is now available, and includes a 'Screen Space Re-Projection Stereo solution' which builds in 3D support that doesn't require any extra programming or assets.

Crytek had previously announced that its upcoming shooter Crysis 2 would have a 3D mode, but this is the first time the German studio has revealed it will be sharing its working with engine licensees.

"In the past year, S-3D has been the most exciting technological development in the world of entertainment," said Carl Jones, CryEngine Director of Global Business Development.

"With CryEngine 3 we offer a solution that is far superior to any other game development solution out there. Developers can easily evaluate the new version of CryEngine 3 through our portal."

The studio claims that stereoscopic support for CryEngine 3 games can be added with "minimal performance loss and zero quality impact."

3D is also available in the real-time sandbox editor, and to the engine's HD movie exporter.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now