Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bigpoint backs new Playboy games label

Thu 26 Aug 2010 7:20am GMT / 3:20am EDT / 12:20am PDT
Business

German publisher to distribute titles through Playboy.com

Playboy is launching a new online games label with the help of German digital publisher Bigpoint.

Bigpoint will distribute a select number of titles, including the €2 million Poisonville, through Playboy.com.

"According to Playboy user feedback, we know our audience is interested in online videogames, so we're thrilled to launch a formal videogame label later this year that will meet their needs," commented Paul Lee, managing director of new digital ventures for Playboy Enterprises.

"We're partnering with Bigpoint to distribute their Massively Multiplayer Online Game, Poisonville, and we look forward to announcing more high quality, development partnerships in the coming months."

The label will officially go live later this year, although no further details were available.

Bigpoint is making a concerted effort to expand in the US, with CCO Nils-Holger Henning telling GamesIndustry.biz earlier this year that it must make content specifically geared towards American tastes in order to succeed in the region.

"We're excited to expand our global partnership with Playboy and introduce Poisonville to US gamers," said Heiko Hubertz, founder and CEO of Bigpoint.

"Launching this new game through Playboy.com will allow us to directly tap into our ideal gaming audience – avid, online men between the ages of 18-35. We look forward to engaging gamers in new and exciting ways through Playboy’s network of high-traffic websites."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now