Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

TIGA: Dundee remains a good place to do business

Tue 17 Aug 2010 5:56pm GMT / 1:56pm EDT / 10:56am PDT
TIGA News

Trade organisation offers sympathies to those affected by Realtime Worlds fallout

TIGA

TIGA is the trade association representing the UK’s games industry. The majority of our members are...

tiga.org

UK trade association TIGA has released a statement insisting that Dundee - and Scotland as a whole - remains a "good place" to do business in the wake of news that the APB developer entered administration today.

Dr Richard Wilson also offered his sympathies to those affected by events and pledged to continue to support the sector.

"This is a very sad day for Realtime Worlds, Dundee and for the Scottish and UK videogames industry," he said. "Realtime Worlds is a fantastic company with an exceptionally talented team, management and board of directors.

On behalf of the videogames industry, TIGA would like to express its condolences to everyone at Realtime Worlds. We wish you the best of luck for the future.

  "Despite today's terrible news, Dundee and Scotland remain good places to do games business. Scotland has some excellent universities and offers large numbers of extremely talented programmers, artists, producers, managers, designers, audio engineers and testers.

"TIGA, the trade association representing the UK games industry, will do everything in its power to champion and support the sector."

Realtime Worlds is now under the administration of Begbie Traynor Group after sales and subscriptions of APB were no longer strong enough to support the future of the company.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now