Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Marvelous turns profit on cost-cutting

Wed 11 Aug 2010 7:46am GMT / 3:46am EDT / 12:46am PDT
BusinessFinance

No More Heroes publisher back in black with 71m profit for Q1

Japanese publisher Marvelous Entertainment has recorded a 71 million profit ($833,839 / 527,789) for the June quarter, up from the 131 million loss for the same period last year.

The boost was from cost-cutting and reducing the number of titles released, with sales down 55 per cent as a result.

During the period the company released No More Heroes: Heroes' Paradise, Hitman Reborn and Ikki Tousen: Xcross Impact in Japan, according to Siliconera.

At the start of the year, Marvelous sold its 50 per cent stake in European publisher Rising Star Games, which licenses games for market outside of Japan.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now