Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Double THQ titles from Double Fine

Wed 11 Aug 2010 7:59am GMT / 3:59am EDT / 12:59am PDT

First fruit of Tim Schafer's new studio philosophy to be XBLA/PSN roleplayer

Double Fine Productions has unveiled its first move following EA's decision to put the Brutal Legend franchise to bed.

Studio boss Tim Schafer revealed at the Develop conference last month that Double Fine would be pursuing smaller, faster projects rather than triple-A titles.

The first of these involves a partnership with THQ for at least two of the four games in development, it emerged yesterday. "We are delighted to work with the creative genius of Tim Schafer and the entire Double Fine studio," said Martin Good, executive VP of THQ Kids, Family, Casual Games, and Global Online Services.

"Delivering high-quality content across a variety of digital distribution platforms is an important growth initiative for us, and we are pleased to do so with two titles whose potential appeal could encompass both hardcore and casual players."

The outing of a trademark for 'Costume Quest' yesterday morning quickly drew attention, and was followed by the game's official announcement last night.

A Halloween-themed action-RPG created by Double Fine's lead animator Tasha Harris, it is due for release on XBLA and PSN this Autumn.

"We wanted to make a big impression with these, our first downloadable games ever," said Schafer. "So we are coming out swinging with two great adventures from two of the most creative minds in the company."

A third-person action title will follow next year. Publishing arrangements for Double Fine's other two titles remain undisclosed. An Activision deal is perhaps unlikely.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now