Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Zynga buys Tokyo start-up Unoh

Fri 06 Aug 2010 10:48am GMT / 6:48am EDT / 3:48am PDT
Emerging MarketsBusinessFinance

Several billion Yen deal made for game developer - report

Japan's leading financial daily, The Nikkei, is reporting that social gaming leviathan Zynga has acquired Tokyo start-up Unoh in a deal apparently worth several billion Yen.

Neither party has officially confirmed the deal as of yet, but a tweet from Robin Chan, Zynga's general manager of Asia business operations, was thought to refer to the deal being closed.

Zynga has already made moves in Japan, having raised $147 million (92.6m) in capital investment from Japanese telecom company Softbank Corp. in June this year. The Unoh acquisition should give Zynga a sound base of operations in Asia.

Zynga is reported to have acquired a 100 per cent stake in Unoh, with a view to localising its social games for Asia as well as creating new products for the market.

Previously, Unoh has created PC and mobile games for the Japanese market, with city-building game Machitsuku being its biggest money-spinner, passing the three million user mark last week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now