Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Image Metrics acquires FacePro

Fri 06 Aug 2010 8:08am GMT / 4:08am EDT / 1:08am PDT
Developer ToolsBusinessOutsourcing

Facial animation studio adds lip-syncing to portfolio

Facial animation company Image Metrics has acquired lip-syncing and technology business FacePro.

The founder and president of FacePro, Rod Stafford, has joined Image Metrics as audio animation lead, supporting the integration of FacePro's audio-based tools into Faceware.

"FacePro is an ideal complement to Image Metrics' Faceware facial animation technology," said Stafford.

"I am excited to blend FacePro's cost effective solution into the high-quality Image Metrics facial animation solution. Together, we can provide our customers with the comprehensive solution they have been asking for."

FacePro's services include automated lip-syncing technology and phoneme recognition audio analysis, technology which Image Metrics hopes to integrate with its own Faceware animation system to improve efficiency and reduce costs. The combined process is expected to be able to produce facial animation for as little as $12 (7.56) per second.

FacePro's current clients include Activision, Ubisoft, THQ and Square Enix.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now