Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

2007 Games Media Awards announced

Fri 12 Oct 2007 10:00am GMT / 6:00am EDT / 3:00am PDT

Intent Media has announced the winners of its first-ever Games Media Awards. won the awards for the best News, and best Reviews and Features for a games website, while Eurogamer TV's Johnny Minkley won an award for his work on Radio One, and Eurogamer's Tom Bramwell was named Best Writer in Specialist Digital Media.

GameSpot UK took home the award for best Podcast, while UK: Resistance was crowned best Non-Commercial Blog.

In the mainstream arena, BBC News Online's technology editor, Darren Waters, was best Writer on a Mainstream Website, while Steve Boxer grabbed the equivalent award for National Newspaper and Simon Munk for Lifestyle Magazine.

Meanwhile Future magazines had a good evening, taking best PlayStation, Nintendo and Xbox magazines, and former games journalist Gary Penn, whose career began in 1985, was handed the Media Legend award.

The award ceremony took place last night at the Soho Revue Bar in London, and organisers had predicted around 250 journalists and industry executives would be at the event.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Specialist Games Media (Online)

Games Website — News


Games Website — Reviews & Features


Games Podcast

Winner: Gamespot

Non-Commercial Website or Blog

Winner: UK: Resistance

Writer in Specialist Digital Media

Winner: Tom Bramwell (

Mainstream Media

Games Writer on a National Newspaper

Winner: Steve Boxer (The Guardian)

Games Writer on a Lifestyle Magazine

Winner: Simon Munk (FHM)

Games Writer on a Mainstream Website

Winner: Darren Waters (BBC)

Regional Games Column

Winner: Ewan Ross (Liverpool Echo)

Best Broadcast on Mainstream TV or Radio

Winnner: Johnny Minkley (Radio One)

Specialist (Print)

PlayStation Magazine

Winner: Official PlayStation Magazine (Future)

Multi-Format Magazine

Winner: Games—

Xbox Magazine

Winner: Official Xbox 360 Magazine (Future)

Nintendo Magazine

Winner: Official Nintendo Magazine (Future)

Best Writer on a Specialist Magazine

Winner: Kieron Gillen (PC Gamer, Future)

Overall Games Magazine

Winner: GamesTM

Games Media Legend

Winner: Gary Penn is published by the Eurogamer Network, also the publisher of

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now