Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

1C Company and EA enter distribution deal

Thu 18 Sep 2008 1:57pm GMT / 9:57am EDT / 6:57am PDT
Business

Russian company to distribute the publisher's titles across the region

Electronic Arts and 1C Company have announced an agreement that will see the Russian distribution of EA games.

According to the contract signed, 1C receives the rights to distribute EA titles in Russia and Commonwealth of Independent States nations. Electronic Arts PC titles will also be sold as 'economy jewel packs' in Russia. The first of these packs will include Crysis Warhead, C&C Red Alert 3 and NHL 09, set to be released in autumn 2008.

"Choice of 1C as our strategic partner is not a random decision. Nowadays 1C is a key player on the distribution market of PC games in jewels. Due to its professionalism this company gained high business reputation and we are interested in long-term and mutually profitable relations," said Peter Laughton, EA vice president and general manager of Central and Eastern Europe.

Nikolay Baryshnikov, International Sales Director for 1C Company, added: "The agreement signed is an unprecedented event for Russian market. World's leading publisher will unite its strength with the largest Russian software company. We greet Electronic Arts' initiative to distribute games in economy packs."

"1C became one of the first companies to introduce that scheme in Russian industry. I am sure that the experience gained along with our distribution network which is the biggest in Russia and CIS countries will contribute to effective collaboration and further growth of Russian game market."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now