Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

1C Company acquires rival publisher BUKA

Thu 17 Jul 2008 11:31am GMT / 7:31am EDT / 4:31am PDT
Business

No merger for the companies as they plan to work together on publishing, marketing and distribution activities

The Eastern European-based 1C Company has announced it has acquired one of the Russia's largest videogame publishers, BUKA.

Currently there are no plans to merge the two Russian gaming giants, but the managers of both companies will now work together in their publishing, distributing and marketing activities.

"BUKA is one of the oldest players on the Russian game market. I always admired the company, its corporate culture, staff, management and operational efficiency," said Boris Nuraliev, director of 1C Company.

"The mutual potential of 1C and BUKA opens new unique opportunities and will help us to achieve success on this challenging and rapidly growing market. It will be an honour for us to develop such a well-known and popular brand."

This follows 1C Company's acquisition of the Russian developer Ino-Co, the team behind Star Wolves and Fantasy Wars, last year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now